Charter of the New Urbanism - 9780071806077

Un libro in lingua di Congress for the New Urbanism (COR) Talen Emily (EDT) edito da McGraw-Hill Professional Pub, 2013

  • € 59,80
  • Il prezzo è variabile in funzione del cambio della valuta d’origine


The Congress for the New Urbanism (CNU) is the leading organization promoting walkable, mixed-use neighborhood development, sustainable communities, and healthier living conditions. Thoroughly updated to cover the latest environmental, economic, and social implications of urban design, Charter of the New Urbanism, Second Edition features insightful writing from 62 authors on each of the Charter's principles. Real-world case studies, plans, and examples are included throughout.

This pioneering guide explains how to restore urban centers, reconfigure sprawling suburbs, conserve environmental assets, and preserve our built legacy. It examines communities at three separate but interdependent levels:

  • The region: Metropolis, city, and town
  • Neighborhood, district, and corridor
  • Block, street, and building

Featuring new photos and illustrations, this practical, up-to-date resource is invaluable for design professionals, developers, planners, elected officials, and citizen activists.

New coverage includes:

  • Urban-to-Rural Transect
  • Form-based codes
  • Light Imprint community design
  • Retrofitting suburbia
  • Tactical Urbanism
  • Canons of Sustainable Architecture and Urbanism
  • And much more

Essays by:
Randall Arendt
G. B. Arrington
Jonathan Barnett
Stephanie Bothwell
Peter Calthorpe
Thomas J. Comitta
Victor Dover
Andrés Duany
Douglas Farr
Geoffrey Ferrell
Ray Gindroz
Ken Greenberg
Jacky Grimshaw
Douglas Kelbaugh
Léon Krier
Walter Kulash
Bill Lennertz
William Lieberman
Wendy Morris
Elizabeth Moule
John O. Norquist
Myron Orfield
Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk
Stefanos Polyzoides
Shelley R. Poticha
Mark M. Schimmenti
Daniel Solomon
Laurie Volk
Robert D. Yaro
Todd Zimmerman

Commentaries by:
Laurence Aurbach
Kaid Benfield
Phillip Bess
Howard Blackson
Hazel Borys
Patrick Condon
Ann Daigle
Ellen Dunham-Jones
Ethan Goffman
Richard Allen Hall
Tony Hiss
Jennifer Hurley
James Howard Kunstler
Gianni Longo
Tom Low
Michael Lydon
John Massengale
Michael Mehaffy
Anne Vernez Moudon
Steven Mouzon
Paul Murrain
Nathan Norris
Russell Preston
Henry R. Richmond
Daniel Slone
Sandy Sorlien
Robert Steuteville
Galina Tachieva
Emily Talen
Dhiru Thadani
Marc A. Weiss
June Williamson

Informazioni bibliografiche